Unknown is scary.

It is scary because it is out of our control.

It is scary because we can’t plan for it.

It is scary because it is unknown.

When I asked Jesus to come and live in my heart as a 4-year-old, I had no idea what kind of journey He would take me on.

When I said “yes” to the call to pastoral ministry back in 2005, I had no idea what kind of journey He would take me on.

When I said “yes” to follow Jesus again this morning (as I do every day) I had no idea what kind of journey He would take me on.

And, sometimes, that is scary.

But each time I say “yes” to the Lord, I am also saying, “I trust You.”

Sometimes when I say that, I feel more like the father of the boy with the evil spirit when he said to Jesus, “I do believe; help me overcome my unbelief!” in Mark 9:24, but I say it anyway.

Because even though the unknown is scary, if I am following Jesus and answering His call, it is good.

Jeremiah 29:11 says: “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

His plans are better than anything I can plan on my own. His ways are more complete than anything I can come up with.

Which means that unknown is good.

I can’t run ahead if I don’t know the way to go. And that is good.

So in the midst of the unknown, today and everyday, I trust, I follow, I learn, I go. Whatever that means. Wherever that leads.

Unknown is good.

And I am following my good God into the unknown.